Will a petition to the manufacturer have any effect?

Does anyone here have experience writing petitions to any electronics manufacturers? As I can see Oticon has become very lazy. Even Widex has already released a desktop microphone and a USB dongle for the computer. Phonak has a huge selection of microphones. And only Oticon is too lazy to produce superpower hearing aids and accessories for them. I hope the petition gets Oticon moving.

Good luck, i am a retired electronics engineer/software engineer and i never saw a customer demand ever see the light of day. You will need every name on earth on your request before you even stand a chance.

2 Likes

Thank you for answer. So we are slaves to corporations.

Pretty much so. And corporate engineers are pretty much slaves to marketing. Most marketing is run and controlled by kids just out of college.

3 Likes

So we must be kids just out of college to control marketing > corporate engineers > entire corporation? :thinking: It seems that the solution to the problem is close :yum:

1 Like

All the complaining about Phonak’s rechargeable run time may have been behind the recent release of battery Lumities. I think this might be different, though. It sounds like Oticon may have purposely decided to abandon that segment of the market, perhaps because it would have to compete with too many others to be profitable.

1 Like

It seems to me that, on the contrary, Intent should compete with the largest part of the market. But superpower hearing aids and accessories have no such competition. Perhaps Oticon is afraid to compete with Bluetooth LE Audio accessories.

Yes, the Intent is aimed at a larger market, and I think that’s the difference here. A small share of a large market can still be very profitable. But the high-powered aids are a smaller market, and there are already a lot competitors, so it would be a small share of a small market. It’s just a theory, and your petition is still worth a try!