Oticon More 1 vs Phonak Lumity Life L90

Yesterday, I was contacted by a local Phonak clinic and offered a free trial of the Lumity Life L90. I thought, “Why not?” Here are the contenders:

1. Oticon More 1: I’ve been wearing them for about 2 years now. Apart from speech in noisy and challenging situations, I am quite happy with them. I wear custom molds.
  2. Phonak Lumity Life L90: Fitted to my latest audiogram, wearing them with domes.

Upon putting the Lumity on, my initial reaction was that the Lumity sounded artificial compared to the More. We adjusted the general program to make it sound more natural (the mids and highs were overamplified in my left ear). Additionally, we crafted a dedicated music program.

While discussing the trial period and when I should return the HAs, we determined that it would be best to return to the clinic in the first week of January and start the trial period then. I will do so, gather my observations, and report back here. However, the couple of hours I had the Lumity have already given me some clues on what is to come (we’ll see):

1. The Oticon paradigm is obvious. With my More, I hear a lot of life’s background and busy sounds. With the Lumity, I noticed more attenuation of background noise.
  2. While talking to the hearing care professional outside his clinic, on a very busy street, I was able to easily comprehend what he was saying. We did the same test with my More, and I struggled to keep up with the conversation.
  3. I enjoyed being able to have a less taxing conversation in a noisy place. However, I noticed that it has a cost. The Lumity comes with a lot of filters and attenuations that were a bit distracting to me. I also felt like sometimes I should’ve been listening to sounds, but my brain was getting nothing, which was a bit odd. The hearing care professional mentioned that it’s possible to adjust the intensity of those filters, which we will do in January.