Opinions needed on selecting the right hearing care professional for first hearing aids

I’ve only visited two HA centers. One back in December before the virus hit and now their all closed but one, Miracle Ear. I’ve decided (from advise here) to wait until the others are open to make my decision.

What am I looking for? Do I need a audiologist or just someone that knows hearing aids and how to program them for my needs? I would think someone (me) with meniere’s is a little harder to get right. I know I want to get the feeling they care about me and my hearing.

My choices’s in my area for brands of aids are Phonark, Starky and ME.

I am not a professional or even a Wanabee professional. But I feel with Ménière’s disease that you should really see an audiologist. They deal with diseases of the year and you have probably even seen an ENT. Good luck in whatever you decide. Personally I am going to go to a Dispenser at Costco because he has had 25 years of experience, and I feel comfortable with that. We are blessed with only these small inconveniences, but it is getting tiresome, especially for you wanting to try HA for the first time. This is a wonderful forum which I just stumbled onto yesterday so I never had the fortune to hear all of these experiences that I am reading about. :grinning:

2 Likes

If you can afford it, nothing beats a trained audiologist who tests hearing and dispenses hearing aids. I bought my first hearing aids online. I saved a few bucks, but I had nowhere near the followup that I have now. I tried Costco for my next pair and they were okay. I tried a couple of other audiologists and I am totally happy with the professional I have now. I have an unlimited number of visits with her, who has been tireless in getting my hearing aids right.