Do people notice your hearing aids?

Being 16 and dealing with hearing loss, I’m about to get the Phonak Lumity 90s. I’m curious, do people tend to notice your hearing aids, especially with this model?

1 Like

Hi there,

You will notice them (being paranoid) more than anyone else. Bar you get colored molds, they will
go almost completely unnoticed.

After a week or two; you won’t even notice you have them and the benefit will be so big.

I was also reluctant at the start. Now I’m so used to the difference in hearing, benefit I get in busier noises etc that it’s almost impossible to go back.

Give it some time, but I feel you will not look back once you give them a fair trial.

All the best and welcome!!!

6 Likes

I find the answer to be (surprisingly) no, never.

I’m an industrial trainer and work with a different group of people almost every week. The environment I work in is pretty noisy, so I always tell people that I am deaf and point out my hearing aids as part of my introduction. They are almost universally surprised.

I have found that as a hearing aid wearer, I look for them on other people, but people who don’t wear them don’t seem to spend a ton of time looking at other people’s ears.

If you are concerned about feeling embarrassment because of your hearing loss, I can only suggest to try to get past it somehow. It doesn’t reduce your value as a human being, any more than wearing glasses does. It’s just part of what makes you, you.

9 Likes

Lots more discrete than earbuds and no teacher can request that you take them out in class! You will love the bluetooth connection to your cellphone if you are allowed to have a cellphone in school, so don’t go bragging about it to everyone about it.

5 Likes